Oil! Oil! Oil!

O'Fallon013

Oil!Oil!Oil! was the headline exclamation on April 23, 1936 when there was a good showing of oil Southeast of Baker. This newspaper is just one of the treasures on display in the O’Fallon Museum. The Montana Historical Society has scanned all Montana newspapers so I was able to retrieve online this copy of the front page:

 

sn84036037-19360423

Oil!Oil!Oil! is what I shouted out this morning when I got to the bottom of the box of my Montana memorabilia and discovered a treasure to behold: the oil sample from the Roget well, three core samples, and a photograph of the rig. What a thrill to retrieve these keepsakes from the deep storage in my basement.

Oil bottle IMG_3554-1

Core samplesIMG_3550

Roget well front-back

 

 

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

Leave a comment