One Bead at a Time

String IMG_2546“Take a line for a walk…”     Paul Klee

Judith writes:

This chunk of black foam was found on Kehoe Beach in the Point Reyes National Seashore. The lightweight, sturdy Styrofoam-type material, is used in water-resistant acoustic panels that are scientifically designed to absorb sound. How it made its way to the beach will forever remain a mystery?!?

 

Line Foam IMG_8310

As I examined the block, I discovered that it was made of thousands of tiny black bead “pearls” compressed into the form. At first these precious gems from the sea inspired me to string them to make a necklace. But as the stringing progressed, taking a queue from Paul Klee’s “Pedagogical Sketchbook”, his textbook for his drawing students at the Bauhaus, I decided to follow his instruction to “take a line for a walk.” As he says… “You have a point. If you move a point you get a line, and if you move the line you get a plane.”

As I carefully thread the small holes in the beads, the repetitious movement of my hands is both meditation and making. Since I began this deconstruction/construction, I have threaded over 50 feet of strand. With 6 beads per inch or 600 inches that is already 3600 beads.

Line IMG_2241

John Gushue from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation writes about how just one drop of oil (or one bead) in the bucket of the ocean can have a big impact. Just imagine what a spill does.

With my students I spent the summer session immersed in the 3,900 pages of Klee’s notebooks that have been scanned and are now available online. Yes, you can turn every page: http://www.kleegestaltungslehre.zpk.org/ee/ZPK/BF/2012/01/01/001/

As I chip away at the chunk, I am documenting the process:

IMG_3888
March 28, 2019 Before and now
April 4 2019 IMG_3947
April 4, 2019

 

1-11-19_img_2546
December 11, 2018

10-28-18_img_2144

10-29-18_img_2173
October 29, 2018

11-02-18_img_2226

10-31-18_img_2217
October 13, 2018

10-31-18 img_2215

 

UPDATE MAY 7, 2019

2019 Spring Art Show poster (1)

For my entry for the 2019 Spring Art Show at the San Geronimo Valley Community Center I wrapped my line into a ball then placed the ball on a pedestal.

Foam Ball pic

Spring Art Show statement:

As a meditation, in a repetitious movement, this ball is being made from thousands of foam “beads” — tiny black “pearls” that are being strung one by one from a block of Styrofoam acoustic insulation that was found on Kehoe Beach in the Point Reyes National Seashore. At first these precious gems from the sea inspired me to string them to make a necklace. As the stringing progressed, taking a queue from Paul Klee’s “Pedagogical Sketchbook,” his textbook for his Bauhaus drawing students, I decided to follow his instruction to “take a line for a walk.” As he says… “You have a point. If you move a point you get a line, and if you move the line you get a plane.” As I continued, the plane became a ball and the ball became this a sculpture.          Line for a Walk

 

SGVCC line post IMG_4378 2

UPDATE JUNE 23, 2019

It is my good fortune to have Gallery Route One in our hood in Point Reyes, a place that gives artists free-reign to be wild, to be untamed, and to take creative chances. Over the years GRO has offered abundant support to me and to our beach plastic project.
 
Part of the success of GRO is the willingness to say YES!!! then, somehow, things do work out from there. SO when they said I could present my “take a line for a walk” strand of foam beads and my foam bracelets in the window I said YES!!! 
 
I am thrilled to have them be part of Untamed, an exhibition of contemporary jewelry art. If you happen to be going out to the coast — the show opens on Saturday, June 22 and is up until June 29. The gallery is open 11-5 except Tuesdays and all day everyday you can see my work in the window.
In the News:

Untamed install page image1

GRO windowIMG_4662

My GRO statement:

This web is the result of hours and hours of meticulous and meditative effort — stringing, one by one, the thousands of foam “beads” — tiny black “pearls” from a block of Styrofoam acoustic insulation that was found on Kehoe Beach in the Point Reyes National Seashore. At first these precious gems from the sea inspired me to thread them to make a necklace.

As the stringing progressed, taking a queue from Paul Klee’s “Pedagogical Sketchbook,” his textbook for his drawing students at the Bauhaus, I decided to follow his instruction to “take a line for a walk.” He says, “You have a point. If you move a point you get a line, and if you move the line you get a plane.” As my strand, in an wild and unwieldy way, grew longer, coming into what appeared to be a labyrinthine meander, the line escaped the plane. Then, when given the opportunity to use this window, it went wild and transgressed all of the panes.

GRO show announce

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

Leave a comment